RSS

the good, the bad and the eggy…

20 Apr

It’s that time of year. The grass is finally green again, trees are budding, flowers are starting to bloom. Spring is in the air. But what is that smell?

Ah yes, boiled eggs.

It is said that in medieval Europe, beautifully decorated eggs were given as gifts. I am guessing that back then, the smell blended in and no one took offense. Why this tradition started, I have no idea, but its something few of us can avoid during this vibrantly fragrant time of year.

(Yes this is all going somewhere).

Today we dyed eggs. I like to think that I have done my part to carry on the Easter funk tradition.

For most people, this may not seem like a big deal. And really it’s not. But in my house most projects turn into major events.

As a mother I have learned to take art projects of any kind done with my children, in stride. I am a bit of an control freak idealist when it comes to crafty undertakings. Countless times I have taken over one of my children’s projects. But as I have fine tuned my parenting skills, I have learned to let go of my ideals and what I think the outcome should be. Who cares if craft eyes are glued on where the mouth should be,  if they mix all the finger paints and make brown soup over the beautiful flower they just painted or that a “portrait” they are so proud of looks more like Sigmund the Sea Monster then me.

I have learned that the less I fret over them, the more fun we all have. And the outcome? Beautiful works of art that I will treasure forever.

So when my 4-year-old Picasso wanted to dye eggs today, I knew I needed to step back and let him do it HIS way.

The results:

Beautiful aren’t they? And all I did was boil the eggs and open the packets of dye.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on pmpWed, 20 Apr 2011 13:10:13 +000010Wednesday 4 , 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “the good, the bad and the eggy…

  1. Francesca DeCaire

    pmpWed, 20 Apr 2011 13:28:13 +000028Wednesday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p04

    Beautiful, how much? 😉

     
  2. metrocakegirl

    pmpWed, 20 Apr 2011 13:35:56 +000035Wednesday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p04

    Thanks Francesca! I asked the man himself and he said ” Ummm 11. No wait $10 for one”. 🙂

     
  3. karen

    ampThu, 21 Apr 2011 11:48:27 +000048Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p04

    undertaking that activity today-with 3 girls!

     
  4. metrocakegirl

    pmpThu, 21 Apr 2011 12:02:48 +000002Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p04

    Have fun Karen, I am sure they will turn out beautifully!

     
  5. artepicurean

    ampFri, 17 Jun 2011 09:54:06 +000054Friday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p06

    Beautiful eggs – I can see why they given as gifts!

     

Leave a Reply

 
