RSS

the cookie project…

18 May

A good friend of mine is determined to crack the recipe of a “secret” chocolate chip cookie that a friend of hers, who will not give up the recipe, makes. (This rubbed me the wrong way, since I think sharing recipes is a wonderful thing).

The Cookie Project is my attempt at recreating the cookie in question for my friend. I will make a batch of cookies a week until I get it right. I will be victorious! (and if not, at least my trial and error will be tasty)

The SC (secret cookie) has me stumped. I have sampled it, and although I am usually pretty good at naming ingredients, there is something that I can’t quite figure out. I have scoured the web in search of unique cookie recipes and so far have found about a dozen. The recipes range from classic to blondie.

I started with a recipe I found on http://www.preparedpantry.com

These are not the SC, but they are worth making. They have the texture and taste of a blondie but in cookie form.

Blondie Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs

1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup pecans or walnuts
1 cup milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

ย Cream 1/2 cup of the butter, sugar, and salt together. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each. Beat until light and fluffy.

ย  In a medium microwave-safe bowl, melt the second 1/2 cup of butter in the microwave until it is mostly melted, about 45 seconds at high power. Stir in the brown sugar to make a thick syrup. Stir in the vanilla extract.

ย  Measure the flour by spooning it into the measuring cups. (If you scoop the flour from the bag, it will be packed and you will have too much flour.) Mix in the baking soda so that it is dispersed.

Beat the brown sugar mixture into the creamed sugar mixture. Add the flour mixture in two or three additions mixing only until combined. Add the chocolate chips and nuts.

Drop rounded spoonfuls or ice cream scoop (my preference) of dough on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for nine to eleven (rotating pan halfway through cooking time). Remove the cookies to a wire rack to cool.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on pmpWed, 18 May 2011 17:07:41 +000007Wednesday 4 , 2011 in Recipes, The Cookie Project

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “the cookie project…

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

    pmpWed, 18 May 2011 17:27:02 +000027Wednesday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    A classic. And thank you for sharing.

     
    • metrocakegirl

      pmpWed, 18 May 2011 17:29:02 +000029Wednesday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      Thank you for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. thefooddoctor

    ampThu, 19 May 2011 01:17:06 +000017Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    Oh I hate these people who won’t share recipes…but you know who I hate even more? those who give you a recipe missing something and claim they gave you the right one and you just can’t get it ..Grrrrr
    Good luck with the SC..I know you can do it

     
    • metrocakegirl

      ampThu, 19 May 2011 09:28:21 +000028Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      I had someone do that to me once, and they thought they were being clever. But I figured out the “missing” ingredient and the look on their face when they tasted it was priceless ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. myblogject

    ampThu, 19 May 2011 02:21:03 +000021Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    I have not tried baking anything cookie or biscuit shaped since I was about 7 and they all merged into a giant sheet of biscuitd as I didn’t leave enough space between them! There look fab… By the way you were busy yesterday it seems ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
    • metrocakegirl

      ampThu, 19 May 2011 09:32:49 +000032Thursday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      Oh you should try again! Once you get it down, cookies are a simple, delicious dessert with so many variations. When making the dough, it is important to add the ingredients in steps, and in the right order, and to not over whip the butter, as this will result in a greasy cookie. Also to only mix in the flour until it is just incorporated , otherwise your cookies will come out tough. If you have questions, send me an email, I will be glad to help ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes I was busy yesterday, and was making up for blog slacking.

       
  4. Twinisms

    ampSat, 21 May 2011 01:06:36 +000006Saturday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    I love baking & cookies! Can’t wait to try these!

     
    • metrocakegirl

      pmpMon, 23 May 2011 14:04:03 +000004Monday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      They came out pretty good, I like my regular recipe better because it produces a chewier cookie.

       

Leave a Reply

 
