RSS

Russian Vegetable Pie

27 May

When I was first introduced (about 16 years ago)  to this amazingly flavorful pie, I refused to try it. I thought it sounded awful. Obviously I did not have the same refined culinary tastes I have today. When I finally gave in, and tried a small bite, I ended up eating 2 pieces and had the leftovers the following day. It has since become one of my favorite dishes. The combination of all the herbs, cabbage, onions and mushrooms burst with aromatic goodness. I love the delicate flakiness of the cream cheese crust. I will be making it this weekend, but wanted to post the recipe today since I won’t have time when I make it. (Sadly I have no picture of the pie to accompany the recipe, but will post one as soon as I can).

This savory pie will not disappoint.

Ingredients

4 eggs

CRUST

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon white sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons butter

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

FILLING

2 tablespoons butter

1 onion, chopped

1 small head cabbage, shredded

1/8 teaspoon dried marjoram

1/8 teaspoon dried tarragon

1/4 teaspoon dried basil leaves

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon butter

8 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

1/2 teaspoon dried dill weed

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place eggs in a saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring water to a boil and immediately remove from heat. Cover and let eggs stand in hot water for 15 minutes. Remove from hot water, cool, peel and slice.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar and salt. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in cream cheese until mixture forms a ball. Roll out 2/3 of the pastry and line a 9 inch pie dish. Roll out the remaining pastry and make a circle large enough to cover the dish. (I roll this out on plastic wrap, to make storing in fridge easier). Put it away to chill.

In a large skillet, melt about 2 tablespoons butter. Add the onion and cabbage and saute for several minutes, stirring constantly. Season with marjoram, tarragon, and basil, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the cabbage is wilted and the onions are soft. Remove from the pan and set aside. Add another tablespoon of butter to the pan and saute the mushrooms lightly for about 5 to 6 minutes, stirring constantly.

Spread the softened cream cheese in the bottom of the pie shell. Arrange the egg slices in a layer over the cheese. Sprinkle them with chopped dill, then cover them with the cabbage mixture. Make a final layer of the sauteed mushrooms and cover with the circle of pastry. Seal and flute the edges of the crust. With a sharp knife, cut a few short slashes through the top crust.

Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on pmpFri, 27 May 2011 14:32:55 +000032Friday 4 , 2011 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Russian Vegetable Pie

  1. thefooddoctor

    pmpFri, 27 May 2011 15:01:35 +000001Friday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    OMG! Amazing!
    I will definetly try this one as soon as i get the herbs..
    can I use green cabbage?

     
    • metrocakegirl

      pmpFri, 27 May 2011 15:13:02 +000013Friday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      yes you can use green cabbage. that is what I always use. Let me know how you like it 🙂

       
  2. myblogject

    ampSat, 28 May 2011 03:13:40 +000013Saturday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

    When I read the title was not so inspired by the name. Sounds pretty lovely from recipe though. Maybe the name just needs sexing up a little though…

     
    • metrocakegirl

      ampSat, 28 May 2011 10:50:56 +000050Saturday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p05

      Oh I know, the name is so generic and bland. Maybe we can come up with something better. 🙂 Let me know if you come up with something.

       
  3. thefooddoctor

    pmpMon, 06 Jun 2011 12:26:55 +000026Monday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p06

    I made this today and it was AMAZING!…
    I was excited and wanted to take pictures and blog about it…but my camera’s battery ran out!
    I will definetly be making this again,,,
    thank you for a wonderful recipe

     
  4. metrocakegirl

    pmpMon, 06 Jun 2011 14:54:03 +000054Monday 4 , 2011 at 9:52 p06

    I am so glad you made it, and liked it! I never did take a picture either, but when I make it again, I will.

     

Leave a Reply

 
